Day 29: “I Remember”

Today the prompt was to write a poem in which every line begins with the phrase “I remember.” I didn’t quite do that (instead, each stanza begins with that phrase) but still like how this turned out.


I remember when I used to hide,

Not caring if my true self died

Beneath the weight of crushing shame.

 

I  remember wanting to throw away life,

Thinking that these days were rife

With sadness and all the same.

 

I remember when the mask slipped,

And slowly I became equipped

With tools I needed to survive.

 

I remember all of those days,

Of being trapped in a gloomy haze,

And I’m glad to be alive.

Leave a Reply

