Healer

I was reflecting on my life this afternoon and felt inspired to write a poem about the healing that has been taking place in my life. I credit Jesus Christ for it and believe that, were it not for Him and His church, I would not have nearly the life I have now. I wrote the poem from His point of view, as if He were saying the words to the reader.


Let My scarred hands touch your scars,

Those hidden hurts within the heart,

Let Me enter the murky depths,

That I may heal the inward parts.

With tender mercy I’ll assuage

The guilt and shame that will not leave,

Your sense of worth will be restored,

For I will be your soul’s reprieve.

I am with you in pain and tears,

For I as well for Lazarus wept,

Be still and let Me shine the light

On all those secrets too-long kept.

Let cleansing water wash away,

The grief and grime of burdens past,

Expose them to the light of day,

And feel them fade, slowly, at last.

Leave a Reply

