Generous

This poem is a sonnet, which I’m happy with myself for writing. I was thinking about generosity and about how the most generous thing is to give of one’s own time and life, and this was created.


The One who gave His life upon that Cross,

Is worthy of all praise and sacrifice,

I wish to do not just what will suffice,

But to go forth, whatever it may cost.

You, God, delight in sacrifice of love,

So I would like to of my own self give,

But help me to through this nervousness live;

Alight upon me like a peaceful dove.

Please guide my thoughts and feet where they should go,

That I should live with generosity,

Spurning selfishness and dishonesty,

Despite its difficulty I do know:

To die to self is holiness’s route —

Fill me with You, that I may be poured out.

Leave a Reply

