Ballerina

When I was around 5 years old, I took ballet and loved it. I remember dancing around my living room un-selfconsciously after class, and even in class, I didn’t criticize myself, compare myself with any of the other students, or fear to look at myself in the mirror. When I think about how I used to be when I was a child, I wonder, “How did this change?” It is sad how different my attitude about that is now. My hope is that I can return to that state of not being self-critical, comparing, or judging harshly. Ideally, I wouldn’t want to think much about myself at all and instead to focus on joy.


I remember you —

A ballerina dancing

In your pink tutu.

Mirrors didn’t frighten you,

And your feet

Were sure underneath,

No thought of falling,

No fear or anxiety.

You even took tap,

And when the metal clapped

The shiny wood floors,

When you moved

In your shiny black shoes,

You smiled, you had fun,

You knew what

It was to love.

2 thoughts on “Ballerina

  1. Jenna, you just made me procrastinate on homework for way too long. :b I just read a bunch of your poems and I loved them. You write with simplicity and clarity but also a lot of thoughtfulness. I came back to this one because I love the line at the end — it’s unexpected but very truthful. Love (of ourselves, of others, of God) involves a lack of self-awareness… like how Adam and Eve in the beginning were naked but weren’t ashamed. That’s a beautiful thing. 🙂 Thanks for making me think and for giving me a beautiful study break!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My sister and I evidently have similar tastes in poetry. I absolutely LOVE this one! It is so raw and honest. It took me back to my ballet days. It made me wish life could always be so simple and full of love (yes, very Adam and Eve). Thank you for sharing your gift

    Like

Leave a Reply

