Coffee Spoons

This morning, I was reading T. S. Eliot’s poem “The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock” and was struck by the line, “I have measured out my life with coffee spoons.” It made me think of my own life because I drink coffee almosy every day but never need a spoon because I always drink it with nothing in it. I felt like that could be a symbol of life: Am I missing something? Am I living the way I am supposed to, the way I was meant to? I don’t think so, but do I have the courage to change it?


“I have measured out my life

With coffee spoons” —

That is to say, I never use

Them, never mixing in

Cream or sugar, keeping

The bitter brew black;

Is my life lacking something?

Have I held life back?

Have I measured out my days

In ways perverse?

Do I dare disturb this universe?

Leave a Reply

