Work of Art

Today I wrote a poem about my favorite painting, which is Saint Cecilia by Guido Reni. The first and only time I saw it in person was 5 years ago, at the Norton Simon Museum. From the second I saw it, I was captivated. At the time, I was an atheist, but seeing the beauty of that painting and Saint Cecilia’s expression showed me something of God.


Saint Cecilia, painted so beautifully,

Dressed in red and blue and gold, so elegantly

Adorned, holding a violin,

I see this painting and begin

To have an inkling of God’s grace,

By beauty and love suddenly embraced;

That painting, which imprinted on my eyes,

Set me on the path to an eternal prize.

 

Leave a Reply

