Tree (Bop Poem)

Yesterday’s NaPoWriMo prompt was to write a Bop poem, which contains 3 stanzas of 6, 8, and 6 lines, and each stanza is separated by a one-line refrain. I also used some alliteration and assonance, in keeping with today’s prompt.


Through life I’ve felt rootless,

Looking for meaning in every passing thing,

A quest that’s been fruitless;

I still have deep longing,

And all my life’s length,

I have been looking for true strength.

 

A tree’s trunk and leaves welcome me.

 

It stands tall while I shrink inside,

It offers its leaves for shelter,

It is confident in its natural beauty,

While I from that reality wish to hide.

And when my life feels helter-skelter,

I seek solace in controlling my body,

Which does not give its promised recompense;

It does not aid at all with confidence.

 

A tree’s trunk and leaves welcome me.

 

Its leaves, bathed in sunlight, provide shade,

Its trunk is like a sturdy wall,

It is content with how it’s made,

The tree makes no comparisons at all.

It shows me there’s a place of safety,

And that I can rest in how I’m meant to be.

 

A tree’s trunk and leaves welcome me.

Leave a Reply

