Fear: A Haibun

This week, on DVerse Poets, one challenge was to write a haibun about fear. What has frightened you in the past or still frightens you? A quote about fear that I related to from the other blog post is “I will show you fear in a handful of dust” (T.S. Eliot). What I fear most may be impermanence, the way that things are always changing. Death does not scare me, but sometimes life does because I want to keep things as they are, even though, as they change, they have the potential to improve.


I fear being disconnected. I fear losing friendships, as tie goes by and people naturally drift apart. It is painful that people who were once an important part of my life barely talk with me anymore. Especially as some of my friends at college prepare to graduate, while I am staying behind, it is hard to accept that the same thing may happen with them. It’s no one’s fault. It just is. That is the most frightening part. I want these people to know how much they mean to me. I do not want to lose them. Please do not become a ghost, a mere memory, words on the once-blank pages of my journal.

 

Let our friendship not

Evaporate into air,

Like a brief spring rain.

5 thoughts on “Fear: A Haibun

  1. We are a lot like sheep and Life (our Good Sheperd) leads us we’re He desires… Loosening the grip of friendship can truly be dreadful. It can be heartbreaking.

    “It’s no one’s fault. It just is. ”

    Truly frightening! Knowing that a loved one can move on without warning, tells me that we must love and show good will as often as Jesus supplies the strength to do so.

    Personally I fall short in this department time and time again.

    As always, your words are full of strength and wisdom! Thanks for sharing your blog with me!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Friendships, like all relationships, take the work of both parties to succeed and thrive. Often we fall into the habit of our busy daily routines and forget to make time for things that are important to us. If you have people you want to keep in your life… make a special time, even just an hour a week, to check in with the people that mean the most to you. Even so, there will be drift over time, and some will go, new will come too… I think though… often people write me after a long while of silence.. and I never mind. I love to catch up with old friends! Keep sharing, this was beautiful and relatable.

    Like

  3. Yes indeed. Sometimes people are friends for awhile and then move on. I understand this fear. But at my age now, I’ve learned some people are not meant to be with us forever. It takes courage to step out and make new friends. I really enjoyed this excellent haibun and the haiku at the end is outstanding.

    Like

Leave a Reply

