Descend: A Sonnet

Holy Spirit of God, will you descend,

And with your love ignite this little life?

Will you consume all else which dares contend,

With devotion within this straying wife?

You dunamos divine, lend me your strength,

To do with joy and peace the Father’s will,

And fellowship with me th’entire length

Of life, with love helping my heart be still.

Inspire me with your caressing breath,

Fill me completely with your holy fire;

Grant all God’s people grace, save all from death,

That all may praise His name on harp and lyre.

O breath and pow’r of God animate me,

That I may share your love eternally!

 

via Daily Prompt: Descend

Leave a Reply

