Opening

This is my response to DVerse’s “And the Sign Said” poetics prompt. We were challenged to use a sign as inspiration for a poem. These are photos of both sides of the Open / Closed sign at my work.

Flipping the sign in the window

From Closed to Open,

For the work day has begun:

I eagerly await the opportunities

To teach, and not only correct

But connect with every

Student who comes in.

I hope they know

That not only this facility

But my heart, in truth,

Is open too.

9 thoughts on “Opening

  1. Yes! I am a firm believer in connecting more than correcting. I especially like…

    “That not only this facility
    But my heart, in truth,
    Is open too.”

    Thanks for joining in!

    Like

Leave a Reply

