Confirmation

This was written in response to DVerse’s haibun free for all. The topic was pretty much anything that actually happened to you.


It was a waterfall: the clove-spiced oil streaming down my face, from just above my head, through my long hair, even into my mouth as it journeyed down my chin, on to the waiting white towel around my shoulders. It was wonderful, this ceremony, being sealed with the gift of the Holy Spirit, and my whole family celebrating. Family, friends, and even strangers commenorating this step: I have decided to follow Jesus, even to a new place.

 

Arid summer day,

Living water courses through

Souls, brought together.

Confirmation Oil

8 thoughts on “Confirmation

  1. This is a confirmation, not a baptism. This should be a communal event and celebration. When I was young it was performed with only a small amount of oil on the forehead, but that was a long time ago. Best wishes!

    Like

  2. Blessings to you. I was baptized a few years ago using hyssop and spring water – the hyssop was dipped into the water and sprinkled on me. It was indeed a confirmation. Thank you for sharing this special time with us. the haiku is perfection.

    Like

Leave a Reply

