I Am Part Blackbird

This poem was inspired by day 21 Jill’s “28 Days of Unreason” challenge. Thank you for sharing the quotations with all of us; it has been a lot of fun to write in response to them! Today’s quotation is, “Like many poets I’m part blackbird and part red squirrel and my brain chatters, shrieks, and whistles.” ~ Jim Harrison


I am part blackbird,

Singing in the dead of night,

And I am part raven,

Croaking nevermore’s dark blight.

 

I am part peregrine,

A pilgrim, flying south,

And I am part sparrow,

Sweet chirping fills my mouth.

 

I am part peacock,

With feathers as my fame,

And I am part phoenix,

Rising in a burst of flame.

 

3 thoughts on “I Am Part Blackbird

Leave a Reply

