The Vision

This poem was written in response to day 25 of Jill’s 28 Days of Unreason series. The quote for today is, “The river can’t heal everything”  ~ Jim Harrison
I decided to write a haibun with a twist: instead of a haiku at the end, I wrote a tanka.

Also, this was posted for DVerse’s latest OLN.


There is a story in the Bible about a vision that the prophet Ezekiel had of a river in the temple: The water begins as a trickle and then rises as he walks along, to his ankles and then even higher. This water is the life of God, lived in the Spirit, quenching the most profound thirst.

But! Careful with me —

I yearn for this water; still

It rises over

My head, and only in dreams

Can I breathe underwater.

6 thoughts on “The Vision

  1. Interesting comparison with Harrison’s river and this one from Ezekiel. I also liked the comparison with the benefit coming from the river and the threat of drowning if it gets too high.

    Like

Leave a Reply

