Not Again!

Today’s Gospel reading is about the hemorrhaging woman again (Mark 5:21-43). The story is that she had been suffering with a hemorrhage of blood for 12 years, and “had suffered greatly at the hands of many doctors and had spent all that she had. Yet she was not helped but only grew worse.” However, having hears about Jesus, she believes that if she could only touch His clothes, she would be healed. Long story short, she does so and is healed.

I haven’t written about this on the blog before, but truth be told, this passage pisses me off — and it seems to come up a lot! I was at Mass during the week one time, and it was the Gospel passage that day, too. Well, I was so angry at Jesus that I got up and walked out (after the priest’s homily; I didn’t want him to think it was because his homily was bad).

I identify very much with this woman. It has been even longer than 12 years now for me. Not that I have a hemorrhage of blood, thankfully, but I’ve got a lot of other stuff and have also spent a boatload of money on expensive therapy and stuff, and I think, especially in the past 6 months to a year, it has gotten much worse!

Usually I get angrier than this, so maybe I’m making some progress, but I needed to let out some steam, and my blog seemed like a good place. I just listened to the daily readings and thought, “Are you KIDDING me??”

THE REVELATION OF JESUS CHRIST: THE WOMAN WITH THE ISSUE OF BLOOD

Here is a picture, from an image search

Leave a comment