Why?????

Day 15 of JusJoJan is themed, “button.” All I could think about was the expression “cute as a button.” My mom used to make photo albums (she still does, usually on the computer, though), and I remember seeing a page from when I was 2 or 3 years old, and I was probably 8 or 9 at the time. On the page was a cutout of a pink button with that phrase next to it.

My very literal, 8-year-old brain was perplexed by that, so I asked my mom, “Why does it say, ‘Cute as a button? Buttons aren’t cute.”

“It’s an expression,” she tried to explain.

Undeterred, I insisted, “But why?????

I don’t remember how that situation resolved, but my mom certainly had a lot of patience with little Jenna. She may have gotten annoyed at my persistent questions (asking the questions that really matter, hahaha), but at least I was cute. 🙂

This post basically turned into an SoCS-style post, due to the fact that writing a poem about buttons proved impossible for me today. 🙂

One thought on “Why?????

Leave a comment