Zombie Feelings

“When you bury your emotions, you bury them alive.”

image-3

I was talking with my therapist yesterday and telling her about how, even when I don’t experience depressive symptoms, I get nervous about the next time (and there’s always a next time). She noted that there’s where most of my anxiety comes in. Then, I started laughing at the idea of having “anxiety about depression,” because it sounds a little ridiculous. Emotions are so complicated; I wish I could just turn them off sometimes! However, I know what happens when you try to do that: When you bury your emotions, you bury them alive. Eventually they will come out, and then the real nightmare begins.

I wrote a senryu on this theme yesterday, and it happens to use the prompt words for FOWC and MVB from yesterday. Linking up even though it’s a day late.

“System Overload”

Though I wish my mind

Could mimic stoic robots,

I’m not a machine

Also for One-Liner Wednesday and Sadje’s WDYS #122 (the picture above).

5 thoughts on “Zombie Feelings

  1. you are human
    and depressed stressed
    anxious ? yes
    i am
    i have gone to sessions
    and been
    dosed on 1000 mg of well butrin
    i prefer my mania
    but others do not
    i wish you success
    in finding joy in each and every day!

    Like

  2. It’s so true: we are not a machine. That’s why we need to be kind to ourselves, forgive ourselves, and treat ourselves with grace. God does that for us all the time. We need to do the same. It’s one of the hardest things to do it seems, because the world tries to push and press us and demand things of us. But when we are in tune with the God of grace, we can allow ourselves time and space to grow and to be at peace with ourselves in the meantime. Wishing you a week like that this week. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It wouldn’t be so awful if it wasn’t a cycle that can trap you. The anxiety leading to depression that leads to anxiety about depression… I think you’re onto something about not burying feelings alive. Letting yourself feel all the feels and then realizing you survived it may help ease the anxiety about next time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment